Posted by: kidnothing | November 21, 2016

Review: Miyoko’s Kitchen Cheeses

mi1

So I actually got these a few days ago(I mentioned one of the flavors in an earlier post), but I wanted to wait until Thanksgiving to try these. Alas, I couldn’t wait(SO HYPE!) and had to try them now.

I initially ordered two, French Style Winter Truffle and Double Cream Chive, off Miyoko’s website. I wanted more but a lot of the flavors were sold out. However, I spotted a few other flavors at Whole Foods, and decided to also pick up Aged English Sharp Farmhouse.

Online, I also ordered some of Miyoko’s ready-made Alfredo Sauce, but that’ll be for a later review 😉

mi2

For reference, I am tasting these atop Multigrain Wheat Thins. I’m not 100% sure they’re vegan(I believe they are though), but I am in the process of transitioning and they’re all I had, so they’re what I’m going with.

mi3

Here’s all of them on crackers!

mi4

So first up is Double Cream Chive.

mi5

So the website describes this as a “buttery, savory, mild herbal garlic flavor”, and lists that it would be good on crackers and as a sandwich spread. I’d definitely agree! it’s definitely not mild to me, very strong garlic chive tasting. Very savory! It’s something I’d have to get used to but I think this would be INCREDIBLE on toast or an everything bagel or in a breakfast burrito.

Next up is Aged English Sharp Farmhouse.

mi7

Miyoko describes this flavor as “a hard, aged sharp round with complex flavors”. In addition to also being good on crackers and in sandwiches, it is also recommended to melt it with nondairy milk into a sauce for pasta and veggies. I really wanted to like this one but it’s almost TOO sharp for me, way sharper than a dairy cheese and a very “off” flavor in my opinion. It has a very smokey aftertaste that I imagine would go well with a vegan bacon substitute, maybe even making a vegan bacon queso dip? That being said, I do like the aftertaste but by itself I don’t think I like the cheese itself very much. I will have to try it in other situations and see if it’s better in sauce form or some other way.

Last up is French Style Winter Truffle!

mi6

So this is the one that I was kind of looking forward to the most since I love anything with truffle! The site calls this flavor “elegant, woodsy, and earthy” and recommends it on crackers, tossed with pasta, or mixed with risotto. I actually really enjoy this one, probably the most out of all of them. It’s got a lot of flavor without being over the top, and I love that it does taste like a high-end nonvegan cheese. I would LOVE this accompanied by sauteed onions and mushrooms and I definitely agree that this would be incredible in a risotto. I will say though, however, the aftertaste is very strange and not something I’m a fan of.

So that brings us to the end of my review! Please keep in mind that I am a fledgling vegan, and I still have the memory of dairy cheese fresh in my mind. Your taste buds may differ from mine and you may find you have a differing opinion from mine. I definitely recommend trying these for yourself and making your own informed decision! Let me know if you’d like me to try other flavors from this line! And stay tuned for a vegan thanksgiving post later this week 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

