Posted by: kidnothing | November 17, 2016

My first time at Whole Foods + Two Reviews!

cheeps

I had never been to Whole Foods before today. I am a fool of a Took.

My boyfriend and I were both off work today and doing some shopping, and I asked my boyfriend if we could finally check it out, and he was down with it. It was EVERYTHING I’ve ever dreamed of in a grocery store.

As someone who’s always been more on the hippie-dippie, crunchy side of normal, this place tickled just about every fancy I have. My boyfriend is very much a foodie and was completely enamored by the amazing quality of the products there. I was floored by the vegan options. So many options now! The only thing in that picture that they had when I was vegan in high school were the Dandies marshmallows. Earth Balance and So Delicious were still fairly new companies, and nothing else was around to my knowledge! It actually made me really emotional. I had planned to buy a lot more(like an unreasonable amount more), but my lovely bae reeled me in a little. This is what I relegated myself to for the time being, but I will be back and I will be trying a lot more items.

Also, I’m SUPER stoked they had Miyoko’s products there! I actually do have an order of Double Cream Chive, French Style Winter Truffle, and their Ready-To-Eat Alfredo Sauce on its way to my house! I did want to get a wheel of Sharp Farmhouse, but the website was actually out, and lo and behold, it was here at my local Whole Foods. I also ordered a Gardein Savory Stuffed Turk’y online because Gardein’s site showed me that nowhere in the area carried them, but they lied, and there were some at Whole Foods for far cheaper than I got on veganessentials. I’m mildly annoyed, but at least I know where to get more if I like them.

So I tried two of the above products today, the first being the Kite Hill Artisan Almond Milk Yogurt in Vanilla flavor. I really wanted to like this, and the flavor is really good, but the texture was a bit strange(although that may have been bc I didn’t put it back in the fridge for a bit before consuming), and there was a strange… Gritty? Aftertaste? It tasted almost powdery and I sadly couldn’t finish it. I will definitely try more flavors and products from Kite Hill as I’ve heard a lot of good things about their brand, but the Vanilla yogurt was a miss for me.

The second thing I tried was the Earth Balance Vegan Aged White Cheddar Flavor Popcorn, and holy shit you guys.

cheeps2.png

When I was in high school, a lot of extracurriculars at my school would fundraise by selling $1 bags of popcorn that most teachers would allow you to eat in class(food or drinks other than water typically weren’t allowed in class). There were a lot of flavors but my all-time favorite when I was still vegetarian was the white cheddar flavor, I would bring so much of my allowance money to buy bag after bag. And these taste JUST like that. That sharp, yet soft, salty and crunchy flavor was to die for, and this tastes so similar and is a lot cheaper overall. I even gave some to the boyfriend and he was worried that we may have accidentally grabbed a nonvegan bag, it was that convincing. I would have KILLED for this when I was transitioning to veganism in senior year, because while unbuttered popcorn with nutritional yeast sprinkled over was a decent holdover, this is on another level entirely.

So Earth Balance, keep it up. You’re my favorite vegan butter and now my favorite cheesy popcorn, and I can’t wait to try the mac and cheese either!

cheeps3.png

Leave a Reply

Categories

